Friday, February 23, 2024

IPL 2023: Format, rules, schedule and how the playoffs work for Indian Premier League

Must read

The 16th season of the Indian Premier League is about to get underway, with some of the world’s best Twenty20 cricketers participating.

It will run from March 31-May 28, with 10 teams competing to be the champion.

The Sporting News explains the format of the IPL and how it will work in 2023.

MORE: Latest betting odds for IPL 2023

What is the format of IPL 2023?

Ten teams will compete in IPL 2023 with teams split up into two groups of five.

Each team will play 14 group games, facing each team their group one and playing home and away matches against the teams in the other group.

The four top-ranked teams overall will qualify for the playoffs, irrespective of which groups they are in.

Which are the two groups in IPL 2023?

Group A Group B
Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings
Kolkata Knight Riders Sunrisers Hyderabad
Rajasthan Royals Gujarat Titans
Delhi Capitals Royal Challengers Bangalore
Lucknow Super Giants Punjab Kings

MORE: IPL 2023 full list of teams, squads and players

IPL 2023 full group schedule

Dates Home Team Away Team Venue Time (IST)
31/3/2023 Gujarat Titans Chennai Super Kings Ahmedabad 7:30pm
1/4/2023 Punjab Kolkata Knight Riders Mohali 3:30pm
1/4/2023 Lucknow Super Giants Delhi Capitals Lucknow 7:30pm
2/4/2023 Sunrisers Hyderabad Rajasthan Royals Hyderabad 3:30pm
2/4/2023 Royal Challengers Bangalore Mumbai Indians Bengaluru 7:30pm
3/4/2023 Chennai Super Kings Lucknow Super Giants Chennai 7:30pm
4/4/2023 Delhi Capitals Gujarat Titans Delhi 7:30pm
5/4/2023 Rajasthan Royals Punjab Kings Guwahati 7:30pm
6/4/2023 Kolkata Knight Riders Royal Challengers Bangalore Kolkata 7:30pm
7/4/2023 Lucknow Super Giants Sunrisers Hyderabad Lucknow 7:30pm
8/4/2023 Rajasthan Royals Delhi Capitals Guwahati 3:30pm
8/4/2023 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Mumbai 7:30pm
9/4/2023 Gujarat Titans Kolkata Knight Riders Ahmedabad 3:30pm
9/4/2023 Sunrisers Hyderabad Punjab Kings Hyderabad 7:30pm
10/4/2023 Royal Challengers Bangalore Lucknow Super Giants Benhaluru 7:30pm
11/4/2023 Delhi Capitals Mumbai Indians Delhi 7:30pm
12/4/2023 Chennai Super Kings Rajasthan Royals Chennai 7:30pm
13/4/2023 Punjab Kings Gujarat Titans Mohali 7:30pm
14/4/2023 Kolkata Knight Riders Sunrisers Hyderabad Kolkata 7:30pm
15/4/2023 Royal Challengers Bangalore Delhi Capitals Bengaluru 3:30pm
15/4/2023 Lucknow Super Giants Punjab Kings Lucknow 7:30pm
16/4/2023 Mumbai Indians Kolkata Knight Riders Mumbain 3:30pm
16/4/2023 Gujarat Titans Rajasthan Royals Gujarat 7:30pm
17/4/2023 Royal Challengers Bangalore Chennai Super Kings Bengaluru 7:30pm
18/4/2023 Sunrisers Hyderabad Mumbai Indians Hyderabad 7:30pm
19/4/2023 Rajasthan Royals Lucknow Super Giants Jaipur 7:30pm
20/4/2023 Punjab Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore Mohali 3:30pm
20/4/2023 Delhi Capitals Kolkata Knight Riders Delhi 7:30pm
21/4/2023 Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad Chennai 7:30pm
22/4/2023 Lucknow Super Giants Gujarat Titans Lucknow 3:30pm
22/4/2023 Mumbai Indians Punjab Kings Mumbai 7:30pm
23/4/2023 Royal Challengers Bangalore Rajasthan Royals Bengaluru 3:30pm
23/4/2023 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings Kolkata 7:30pm
24/4/2023 Sunrisers Hyderabad Delhi Capitals Hyderabad 7:30pm
25/4/2023 Gujarat Titans Mumbai Indians Ahmedabad 7:30pm
26/4/2023 Royal Challengers Bangalore Kolkata Knight Riders Bengaluru 7:30pm
27/4/2023 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings Jaipur 7:30pm
28/4/2023 Punjab Kings Lucknow Super Giants Mohali 7:30pm
29/4/2023 Kolkata Knight Riders Gujarat Titans Kolkata 3:30pm
29/4/2023 Delhi Capitals Sunrisers Hyderabad Delhi 7:30pm
30/4/2023 Chennai Super Kings Punjab Kings Chennai 3:30pm
30/4/2023 Mumbai Indians Rajasthan Royals Mumbai 7:30pm
1/5/2023 Lucknow Super Giants Royal Challengers Bangalore Lucknow 7:30pm
2/5/2023 Gujarat Titans Delhi Capitals Ahmedabad 7:30pm
3/5/2023 Punjab Kings Mumbai Indians Mohali 7:30pm
4/5/2023 Lucknow Super Giants Chennai Super Kings Lucknow 3:30pm
4/5/2023 Sunrisers Hyderabad Kolkata Knight Riders Hyderabad 7:30pm
5/5/2023 Rajasthan Royals Gujarat Titans Jaipur 7:30pm
6/5/2023 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians Chennai 3:30pm
6/5/2023 Delhi Capitals Royal Challengers Bangalore Delhi 7:30pm
7/5/2023 Gujarat Titans Lucknow Super Giants Ahmedabad 3:30pm
7/5/2023 Rajasthan Royals Sunrisers Hyderabad Jaipur 7:30pm
8/5/2023 Kolkata Knight Riders Punjab Kings Kolkata 7:30pm
9/5/2023 Mumbai Indians Royal Challengers Bangalore Mumbai 7:30pm
10/5/2023 Chennai Super Kings Delhi Capitals Chennai 7:30pm
11/5/2023 Kolkata Knight Riders Rajasthan Royals Kolkata 7:30pm
12/5/2023 Mumbai Indians Gujarat Titans Mumbai 7:30pm
13/5/2023 Sunrisers Hyderabad Lucknow Super Giants Hyderabad 3:30pm
13/5/2023 Delhi Capitals Punjab Kings Delhi 7:30pm
14/5/2023 Rajasthan Royals Royal Challengers Bangalore Jaipur 3:30pm
14/5/2023 Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai 7:30pm
15/5/2023 Gujarat Titans Sunrisers Hyderabad Ahmedabad 7:30pm
16/5/2023 Lucknow Super Giants Mumbai Indians Lucknow 7:30pm
17/5/2023 Punjab Kings Delhi Capitals Dharamshala 7:30pm
18/5/2023 Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore Hyderabad 7:30pm
19/5/2023 Punjab Kings Rajasthan Royals Dharamshala 7:30pm
20/5/2023 Delhi Capitals Chennai Super Kings Delhi 3:30pm
20/5/2023 Kolkata Knight Riders Lucknow Super Giants Kolkata 7:30pm
21/5/2023 Mumbai Indians Sunrisers Hyderabad Mumbai 3:30pm
21/5/2023 Royal Challengers Bangalore Gujarat Titans Bengaluru 7:30pm

Make your IPL 2023 predictions and win prizes with Dafabet in Premier League Mania

How the playoffs work at IPL 2023

The IPL will stick to its established formula of a four-match playoff round.

In the first phase, the top two teams will play each other in Qualifier 1, with the winner progressing directly to the final.

In the Eliminator the third and fourth-placed teams face off, with the loser knocked out and the winner progressing to play the loser of Qualifier 1 in Qualifier 2

Qualifier 2 is effectively a semifinals, with the winner progressing to play the winner of Qualifier 1 in the Final. This means the Final can be a rematch of Qualifier 1.

IPL 2023 playoff schedule

Dates Home Team Away Team Venue Time (IST)
TBC 1st place team 2nd place team Neutral 7:30pm
TBC 3rd place team 4th place team Neutral 7:30pm
TBC Loser Qualifier 1 Winner Eliminator Neutral 7:30pm
28/5/2023 Winner Qualifier 1 Winner Qualifier 2 Ahmedabad 7:30pm

IPL 2023 venues

Teams Venues
Chennai Super Kings M.A. Chidambaram Stadium
Deli Capitals Arun Jaitley Stadium
Gujarat Titans Narendra Modi Stadium
Kolkata Knight Riders Eden Gardens
Lucknow Super Giants BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium
Mumbai Indians Wankhede Stadium
Punjab Indians Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium
Rajasthan Royals Sawan Mansingh Stadium
Royal Challengers Bangalore M. Chinnaswamy Stadium
Sunrisers Hyderabad Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad

WATCH: 20 Greatest T20 Players Roundtable

Latest article